Who broke the sound barrier in a free fall?

Skydiver Felix Baumgartner was the first to break the sound barrier in free fall. He reached speeds of Mach 1.25 in a record breaking 39 kilometer dive from a helium balloon in the stratosphere on October 12, 2012.