How did simon cowell become famous?

Cowell helped develop a new show in the UK, Pop Idol. Fox Broadcasting imported the show, along with Cowell as judge, to the United States in 2002, as American Idol. An immediate hit, its popularity was partly due to Cowell’s acerbic put-downs of contestants and, on occasion, his fellow judges.