What was the capital of israel before jerusalem?

The capital of Jerusalem before Israel was Hebron.

---

Tel Aviv was the temporary government center of the State of Israel until the government moved to Jerusalem in December 1949. Due to the international dispute over the status of Jerusalem, most embassies remained in or near Tel Aviv