How much sleep does a kitten need?

Cats sleep for most of the day, but sometimes they are not heavy sleepers, they are in a half-sleep state. Kittens need a lot of sleep. The younger they are the more they sleep. A kitten that is only a week old might sleep 23 hours a day. By six weeks they may only sleep 12 to 14 hours per day.