When was hurricane sandy?

October 22, 2012 to November 2, 2012. On October 22, 2012, the hurricane started as a tropical wave in the western Caribbean Sea. The storm quickly gained momentum as it moved northward toward the Greater Antilles. On Oct. 24, Sandy reached hurricane status and made landfall near Kingston, Jamaica