What is the french mexican war?

The Second French Intervention in Mexico, also known as the Second Franco-Mexican War (1861–1867), was an invasion of Mexico, launched in late 1862 by the Second French Empire, which hoped to replace the Mexican Republic with a monarchy favorable to French interests.