What was the berlin airlift?

On June 24, 1948, Soviet forces blockaded all road, rail and water routes into Berlin’s Allied-controlled areas, stifling the vital flow of food, coal and other supplies. Allied air forces took to the skies to deliver the needed supplies to Berlin. The airlift continued until September 30, 1949.