How long does cake stay good for?

Typically, a cake will only stay fresh for up to three or four days before the moisture is drawn out and the texture becomes drier. A cake can last in a fridge for a little bit longer if it has been frosted as the frosting keeps the moisture in the sponge.

---

It depends whether you leave it on the shelf or in the fridge or freezer. But if you have whipped cream anywhere in the cake, you had best put it to refrigerate or the whipped cream will melt and go bad