Is distilled water the same as drinking water?

Distilled water is not the same as drinking water, but you can drink distilled water. Water distillation is where the water is heated to the boiling point, and the resulting steam is collected through a tube or pipe. As it is collected, it cools and becomes water again. Impurities are left behind.