How did guinea pigs get their name?

The name “guinea pig”can be traced back to their original price in 16th-century England, where they could be bought for one guinea each. “Pig” is thought to have derived from the idea that they resemble small pigs, and this seems to be borne out by the names guinea pigs are given in other languages.