When were snow globes invented?

Erwin Perzy III invented the Schneekugel (snow globe) in 1900. His grandfather, Erwin Perzy, was using a glass globe filled with water to improve brightness of the electric light bulb. Erwin Perzy III poured white powder, semolina, into the glass globe and it floated slowly to the globe’s base.