How do you get a shovel in animal crossing?

To get your first shovel in Animal Crossing New Horizons you will need to donate 5 fish and/or bugs to Tom Nook. He'll give you a spot to set up for the museum, and once that's there Blathers will give you a recipe for a shovel.