What is a. d. mean in tennis?

Ad in tennis stands for advantage. When a tennis game score is tied at 40-40, the game score is said to be at deuce. The player that wins the next point has the ad. If the player with the ad then wins the next point, they win the game. If the next point is lost, the score returns to deuce.