How do you get a dog to settle down?

It will depend on a specific setting and the dog's reactions to the situation at hand. I have a Black Lab that is hyper when someone comes in the front door, she gets the ignore and turn your back treatment until she settles. If it is something scary she gets the ssshhh and hugs treatment