What is dark roast coffee?

Dark roast coffee beans have been roasted longer than other types, resulting in a darker bean and a more full-bodied cup of joe. A longer roast moderates bright flavors and reduces caffeine levels, so dark roast coffee is less sour and more bitter than a light roast.