Can dogs get lice?

Dogs can be infested with three species of lice, Linognathus setosus (a bloodsucking louse), Trichodectes canis (a biting louse), and Heterodoxus spiniger (a biting louse that feeds on blood). Dogs in poor health can become heavily infested.