What is tea tree oil?

Tea tree oil, also known as melaleuca oil, is an essential oil that is derived by steaming the leaves of the Australian tea tree. Tea tree oil is believed to be antibacterial and is commonly used to treat acne, athlete's foot, nail fungus and insect bites.