Why are black cats considered bad luck?

In the Middle Ages, the Norman and Germanic peoples believed that a black cat crossing your path would bring bad luck and that seeing a black cat was an omen of death. Early Christians vilified anything they associated with paganism, including cats, which were symbols of witchcraft and goddesses.