When did spartan came?

Sparta, a city-state in ancient Greece, emerged as a political entity around 1000 BCE. Sparta’s defeat by Thebes in 371 BCE ended Sparta’s prominent role in Greece, but it maintained its political independence until the Roman conquest of Greece in 146 BCE.