What cause the fires in australia?

The fires in Australia were caused by natural causes, like lightning strikes in drought-affected forests. However, one highly unusual occurrence, a breakdown of the Antarctic polar vortex due to sudden stratospheric warming, worsened fire conditions in Australia last year.

---

The results indicate that the ongoing drought, surface soil moisture, wind speed, relative humidity, heat waves, dead and live fuel moisture, and land cover with certain vegetation (particularly native eucalyptus and grazing land) are the primary causes of the widespread bushfire.