Do oats contain gluten?

technically, pure, uncontaminated oats are gluten-free. The U. S. Food and Drug Administration considers them a gluten-free grain under its gluten-free labeling regulations and only requires that packaged products with oats as an ingredient contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten overall.