What would happen if you cut a cat's whiskers?

Cats have a sensory organ at the end of their whiskers called a proprioceptor, which also sends messages to the brain. If you trim a cat's whiskers, it often will become disoriented and have trouble moving around. A lost whisker will eventually grow back, but the cat will miss even one.