How many points do you need to open in bridge?

Two factors contribute to whether you have an opening bid: Your high card points - Barring exceptions, you should have at least 12 HCP to make an opening bid. And your distribution (the way your cards are divided): Open the bidding in your longest suit, which typically has four or more cards.