What is lye soap?

Soap made from lye, rendered fat and sand. Lye is a mild acid that strips away a thin skin layer. The fat helps it glide across your skin and the sand acts as an exfoliant.

---

Lye soap is a soap made with sodium or potassium hydroxide.