How long is a parboil?

Add a large pinch of salt, more or less depending on the quantity of vegetables. Bring water to a boil over high heat. Once water begins to boil, turn off the heat, but leave the pot on the hot burner. Allow the vegetables to sit in the hot water for 8-12 minutes