Why was pat sajak away from wheel of fortune?

Pat Sajak 73, had to undergo emergency intestinal surgery. During his absence, Vanna White hosted the show, while Pat's daughter Maggie turned letters. Episodes with Pat began airing again on December 13th, 2019.