When do you potty train children?

It is a good idea to wait until the toddler shows interest in the toilet or if they seem to realize when they need to go, like finding a quiet spot. Girls around 2 and a half, boys often need a little more time. There is no shame in waiting a bit if the stress is high on the parents or the child.

---

Kids potty train between 2 and 5. Toilet learning is internal and developmental: to recognize the sensations of fullness, be able to hold on, communicate the need to go in time to get into place, and let go. Training without reference to these developments creates a lot of stress and many accidents.