When do you potty train children?

It is a good idea to wait until the toddler shows interest in the toilet or if they seem to realize when they need to go, like finding a quiet spot. Girls around 2 and a half, boys often need a little more time. There is no shame in waiting a bit if the stress is high on the parents or the child.