Why do they call groundhogs woodchucks?

Supposedly the word “woodchuck” is a corruption of the original Algonquian name for groundhogs, “wejack”, which means “fisher”. At some point, it is believed, wejack was anglicized and became woodchuck, and that’s why groundhogs are known by that name to this day.