What year did alexander graham bell invent the telephone?

According to The Canadian Encyclopedia, while the idea was conceived in Brantford, Ontario, in the summer of 1874, the invention became a reality on March 10th, 1876. Bell was not alone in this quest to design the landmark communications tool, but his name is on the original US patent, 174465A.