How does a delorean time machine work?

The vents attached to the back of the DeLorean were designed to cool the nuclear reactor that the flux capacitor used to generate 1.21 gigawatts of electricity after making a trip through time. After traveling through time, the vents would expel a cloud of cold air as the time machine vented.