How do you get a four year-old to stop crying?

Children generally cry because they don’t have the adequate words to tell you what’s wrong. They may be hungry, tired or frustrated. Offer them a snack and try to get them to rest. Gently hold and rock them if they will let you. Give them space and let them know you want to help.