Where does the white go when the snow melts?

The white colour of snow comes from white light being reflected off of the many surfaces of frozen water. As the snow melts, it reverts to its liquid form which results in a significant reduction of reflective surfaces, allowing light to mostly pass through the water rather than reflect off of it.