Why are nunchucks called nunchucks?

Nunchuck is a variant of a word from the Japanese dialect of Okinawa, nunchaku. Nunchaku began to be used in English in the early 1960s, initially applied to a style of martial arts, and shortly after to the particular weapon employed in that style.