Why is the republican symbol an elephant?

Made popular by cartoonist Thomas Nast, the Republican elephant first appeared in Harper's Weekly in 1874. At least a decade earlier, advertisements had promoted the GOP with the slogan "see the elephant," an obscure bit of Civil War slang that roughly translates to "fight bravely."