What year was canada discovered?

It is believed that the first European to reach Canada was Leif Erikson in 1000 A.D. establishing a small colony in what is now the tip of Newfoundland. No further European exploration occurred until 1497 when the Italian John Cabot claimed Canada's Atlantic coast for King Henry VII of England.