Who owns the oscars?

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences own the Oscars®, Academy Awards®. The statuettes have been legally encumbered by the requirement that the statuette be first offered for sale back to the Academy for US$1. If a winner refuses to this stipulation, then the Academy keeps the statuette.