What is the pokemon phantom?

The Pokémon Phantom is the leader of the pirates and the main antagonist in Pokémon Ranger and the Temple of the Sea. He wants to hatch a Manaphy so he can rule the Temple of the Sea. The Phantom is currently in jail for his crimes.