What does you can't have your cake and eat it too mean?

It is a figure of speech, meaning you have to choose between two options.

---

The proverb literally means "you cannot simultaneously retain possession of a cake and eat it, too". Once the cake is eaten, it is gone. It can be used to say that one cannot have two incompatible things, or that one should not try to have more than is reasonable.