What's the common name for japanese horseradish?

Commercially produced Japanese horseradish is commonly known as Wasabi. Authentic Wasabi is produced with the Wasabi plant root, but it's considerably more expensive than commercially produced Wasabi, which utilizes the horseradish root as the main ingredient.