What is the mass of carbon?

On the periodic table the mass of carbon is reported as 12.01 amu. This is the average atomic mass of carbon. No single carbon atom has a mass of 12.01 amu, but in a handful of C atoms the average mass of the carbon atoms is 12.01 amu.