Why do goosebumps happen?

Goose bumps are the bumps on a person's skin at the base of body hairs which may involuntarily develop when a person is tickled, cold or experiencing strong emotions such as fear, euphoria or arousal. The formation of goose bumps in humans under stress is considered to be a vestigial reflex.