What happens when you mix baking soda and vinegar?

When baking soda is mixed with vinegar, something new is formed. The mixture quickly foams up with carbon dioxide gas.

---

When you mix vinegar and baking soda, you get a chemical reaction that produces carbon dioxide gas, water, sodium ions, and acetate ions. The reaction happens in two steps: first an acid-base reaction, then a decomposition reaction.