What is sodium bicarbonate?

Sodium bicarbonate, commonly known as baking soda or bicarbonate of soda, is a chemical compound with the formula NaHCO₃. It is a salt composed of a sodium cation and a bicarbonate anion. Sodium bicarbonate is a white solid that is crystalline, but often appears as a fine powder.

---

Sodium bicarbonate, also known as baking soda, is a white powder that is commonly used as a raising agent in baking. It can also be used as a mild alkali to neutralize acids, as a cleaning agent, and as a deodorizer. In the human body, it neutralizes stomach acid and is used to treat indigestion.