What's the difference between a nut and a seed?

Nuts have a hard outer shell that contains a dry fruit. The shell does not separate when the fruit is ready to eat but must be practically pried off. Seeds are embryonic plants with a built in nutrient-rich seed coat. Some seeds need their outer husk removed prior to eating and others do not.