What is spinal fluid?

Spinal fluid, also known as cerebrospinal fluid (CSF), is a clear, colorless liquid that surrounds and cushions the brain and spinal cord. The main functions of the spinal fluid are to cushion and protect the brain and spinal cord, provide nutrients, and remove waste products.