Why do people put bread in the fridge?

People put bread in the fridge to try to keep it from going stale. Bread goes stale through the loss of moisture and the recystalization of starches in the bread after baking. The best strategy is not refrigeration, but freezing and then rewarming. Always keep bread wrapped to reduce moisture loss.