How old do you have to be to have a b. b. gun?

You need to be old enough to take responsibility for your actions, old enough to have attained emotional stability, and old enough to care about the welfare of people and animals. This includes wild animals perhaps a desire to hunt is a disqualifier except hunting for squirrels and rabbits, etc.

---

Requirements for owning a BB gun, including minimum age, can vary quite a bit from one jurisdiction to another. Check your state and local laws for that information.