What's the nelson mandela effect?

False memories can sometimes be shared by multiple people. In 2010, this phenomenon was dubbed the "Mandela Effect" by paranormal researcher Fiona Broome, who reported having vivid and detailed memories with coverage of South African anti-Apartheid leader Nelson Mandela dying in prison in the 1980s