Who invented virtual reality?

In 1968 Ivan Sutherland and his student Bob Sproull created the first VR / AR head mounted display that was connected to a computer and not a camera. It was a large and scary looking contraption that was too heavy for any user to comfortably wear and was suspended from the ceiling.