What kind of nut is in an acorn?

The acorn, or oaknut, is the nut of the oaks and their close relatives. It usually contains one seed (occasionally two seeds), enclosed in a tough, leathery shell, and borne in a cup-shaped cupule. Acorns take between 5 and 24 months (depending on the species) to mature.